The Science Fiction Fantasy Adventure Teacher

The journey of a future science teacher and her struggles with geekdom and nerd culture.

Thunder And Lightning Aren't So Frightening August 3, 2010

“A Thunderstorm arrives, power outage! How do you occupy your time?”

….

…What about time? Sorry, I ran outside at the mention of “thunderstorm”…

For some (crazy) people I know, their reaction to a thunderstorm is “Aw man, the power’s out… Hey, let’s watch a movie!… Wait… Okay well, why don’t you Google when the storm’s supposed to pass? …Oh yeah… Okay well… Umm…Where’s that flashlight?”

It’s sad to watch my peers fumble around blindly in the dark, bantering about what they could possibly occupy their time with while they’re deprived of technology for a short while.

But for me, it’s a different story. As soon as the first clap of thunder is heard and the rain begins to pitter-patter on my roof, I am the one to grab my little Fujifilm FinePix Z20fd and dart outside. Depending on the intensity of the storm I may bring my obnoxiously pink Victoria’s Secret umbrella out with me to protect my camera, but if the winds are too high I abandon all precautions and jump right into the madness.

I am the girl who Briar Cliff University witnesses dancing in the rain out in the parking lot. I am the girl hiding under a dry ledge for hours to capture the perfect shot of lightning. I am the girl who would rather sit out and watch the beauty and power of a brutal storm than stay inside pondering what to do.

So… What were you saying about a power outage? Did you find that flashlight?

Kaitlin TowPowered by Plinky
Thunderstorm Enthusiast

 

5 Responses to “Thunder And Lightning Aren't So Frightening”

  1. Dusty Says:

    Id be right there with you. Thunder storms are the best.

  2. Hi, Nice to see a pretty professionally done blog on the this rich subject.

  3. Charlie Edwards Says:

    When they finish writing the book about you after you’ve lived your life, the ending will say…”It’s almost as if she knew that walk out in the garden would be her last. Suddenly she was struck down by a beautiful bolt of raw cosmic power, The End.”

    • superkait Says:

      Hahah! I always hoped that I would go out with a bang.
      In which case, being struck by lightning would be towards the top of the list.

      😉 That’s a nice little excerpt though. Maybe you should be the writer of my biography.


Comments are closed.