The Science Fiction Fantasy Adventure Teacher

The journey of a future science teacher and her struggles with geekdom and nerd culture.

Ex-Milk Drinker Awaiting the Chance to Relapse July 6, 2010

Plinky‘s gone and come up with a new prompt that snagged my attention… “What I Lost and Want Back”.

E.J. tells me that prompts are for suckers, but I beg to differ. My views on prompts is formed thus: Every once in a while, you get prompted with something that really makes you think.

I saw lots of people respond to this prompt on Plinky with “my mind” or “my sanity” but since I never had anything like that (sanity – now that’s what’s really for suckers) I was a little stuck. What is missing in my life that I’ve had and want again?

Ex-boyfriend? Nah.
Innocence? Pshh, I didn’t lose that! (Didn’t you read my first blog?)
My old car? I upgraded.

So in my simplistic and well-rounded life of little-lost, I’ve decided that the one thing that I’ve lost and would like a chance to reclaim is… MILK!

I hope that won some quizzical expressions from some readers, because very few of you know about my ailment: I’m allergic to cow’s milk!

I found out last summer via blood tests (almost a full year to date, actually) that I had a moderate allergy to cow’s milk and certain cheeses, particularly American cheese & cheddar.

A little strange, a little out of the ordinary, but bothersome nonetheless. For those who’ve experienced the food culture of the Midwest, you are already mourning for me. For those that haven’t, let me clue you in…

This is what  homemade Lasagna Looks Like... MMMM!

…Almost every typical homemade dish of the Midwest includes dairy products in the form of either milk or cheese and therefore I have sat sulking in the corner at all of our recent family dinners in Minnesota. If you’re interested in learning a little extra about the food of the Midwest, I’d recommend this article I stumbled upon earlier today:

Food in United State Midwest Region

I have many colleagues in the chemistry & medical departments of various colleges that have already resolved to “Fix” me before I die — but you’re welcome to join in the search of a cure to food allergies.

While that’s happening, I’ll just be sitting here by the river, waiting for the day that I’ll get to drink one more cold glass of milk, eat another ice cream cone, or taste the richness of homemade lasagna again.

Happy Belated 4th of July, everyone!
– Kaitlin Tow β™₯

 

107 Responses to “Ex-Milk Drinker Awaiting the Chance to Relapse”

  1. Raul Says:

    There is no way I could do without milk…It would surely be at the top of my list of something I had lost and wanted back if, well, I lost it.

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

    • superkait Says:

      Ahh yes… Well in that case, since you still have your milk-drinking abilities, I would only request that every time you get ice cream, get an extra scoop for me! πŸ™‚

  2. bennygons Says:

    your exactly right!!!!!

  3. bronxboy55 Says:

    I’m leaving this comment at the risk of wading in way over my head, but I recently did some (amateur) research on peanut allergies. Apparently, some British scientists have been testing the idea that if you give people with allergies small amounts of the offending foods, and gradually increase the amounts, those people can often reach the point where they’re able to consume the food with little or no negative reaction. Again, this was done under controlled conditions and isn’t something to dabble in on your own. But I wonder if you’ve heard about this approach, and if so, what you think of it.

    Good luck. I wish I had an answer. On the slightly brighter side: I don’t know if you’ll ever be able to eat ice cream or lasagna, but you’ll always be a good writer.

    • superkait Says:

      Wow! Thanks for the reply. I’ve also hear about this method of food allergy treatment. And really my problem is not as severe as the peanut allergies that they were working with in those tests; i just get sick to my stomach and throw everything up if i drink a glass of milk. And since i was a regular, heavy, dairy consumer prior to last summer (even though I felt sick a lot) it’s definitely possible that I could raise up my tolerance a little bit. I’ll work with that! πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much, you make me blush!! πŸ˜› ❀

  4. Ardith Says:

    Mmmmilk. Bummer about the allergy… and all the delicious foodstuffs being missed. 😦

  5. […] Ex-Milk Drinker Awaiting the Chance toΒ Relapse […]

  6. natinanorton Says:

    Life without ice cream? Oh, you poor dear!

    Unfortunately I don’t have any miracle cure for you, but if it makes you feel any better, I have a severe reaction to chocolate (the coca more than the diary). I finally had to submit to this conclusion when I got half way through eating a dark chocolate bunny at Easter and started to develop a massive migraine with stomach pains. My solution?

    Must. Eat. Chocolate. Faster!

    I’m still trying to decide if it was worth it. πŸ™‚

    Natina

    http://crosswordcharlie.wordpress.com/

    • superkait Says:

      Poor me? Poor you! Chocolate is my last resort comfort food now, haha. If it wasn’t for dark chocolate (low dairy content) I’d be a very blue little panda bear.
      I have a good friend that developed migraines from chocolate as well, but I can’t imagine, I’ve never even had a migraine (much less gone more than a week without eating chocolate!).

      And it’s hard to decide if eating the foods you have to avoid is worth it… I know when I wake up and have to run to the garbage can in the night that I probably shouldn’t have drank any of that milkshake.

      Thanks for the comment, good luck with finding awesome coca substitutes!

  7. Catherine333 Says:

    I really liked your post and being a big milk and cheese consumer I truly sympathize with you.

  8. Dairy is evil. You’re better off without it. I LOVE cheese!!

    • superkait Says:

      So… Wait, what? Haha, do you mean that you love soy cheese? Because I’ve tried non-dairy cheese but I really don’t like it compared to the real deal – dairy.

  9. Dave H. Says:

    Wow! I just stumbled on your blog entry quite by accident, but it caught my eye immediately. I consider milk, cheese, and ice cream to be my own personal versions of “crack.” I can imagine the hell you’re enduring to have to avoid any and all dairy products. I think I would have to just choose to become permanently drunk, high, stoned or something similar. What a terrible fate! I hope that, one day, you’ll be able to enjoy the good stuff again!

    • superkait Says:

      Wow, well I am so glad you dropped by to visit because your comment really made me smile. πŸ™‚ And yes, sadly there is no substance that I could possibly abuse in order to replace the loss of dairy in my life! haha. Thanks for the well-wishes! ❀

      -kaitlin

  10. challengingthebookworm Says:

    As a fellow mid-western who is also allergic to milk (and has been for…. well, years) I have to say that it is not all bad. While yes, you might be forced to eat the apple at the office party where everyone else eats cake, there are a multitude and ever-increasing number of non-dairy substitute products. With the recent health craze, they’re a lot easier to find in mainstream stores as opposed to special ordering them at the local speciality health food store.

    • superkait Says:

      Oh yes! I have been very impressed with even my own local Hy-Vee’s options for non-dairy… It’s great that there’s so much out there for us non-milk people, but unfortunately for me, all those organic non-dairy, fancy-pants substitutes cost just a little bit more at the store – and that hurts me, as a broke college student. but one day when I have more grocery money I will stock up on the healthy non-dairy options again. πŸ™‚

  11. partydavo Says:

    Hi Kait,

    I must ask, have you ever tried REAL milk?

    By ‘Real Milk’, I mean UNhomogenised and UNpasteurised milk…?
    Research has been done into the relationship between processed milk and allergies forming in children. They have seen results such as reversal of allergies once raw organic grass fed milk is introduced.
    Check it out:
    http://www.realmilk.com/healthbenefits.html

    You may have to befriend your local farmer as it’s actually illegal in many countries to sell unpasteurised milk for drinking, so look for ‘bath milks’.
    All the best in your studies πŸ™‚
    Davo

    • superkait Says:

      Wow, wow, wow!
      The value of this comment just blew me away…

      Davo, thanks for sharing this with me – this is definitely something I should talk to my dietitian about. I’ve also heard quite a bit about how ingesting dairy products with pro-biotics in them, such as Kefir, helped with a lot of milk allergy problems.
      Anyway, thanks for this link, I am going to go hunt down my friendly neighborhood dairy farmer a.s.a.p. πŸ™‚
      ❀ Kaitlin

  12. petitemuscle Says:

    You know some people CHOOSE not to consume dairy products. lol I haven’t for the last 3 yrs. and let me tell you…I haven’t felt better! You should look up alternatives, almond or rice milk, and rice milk ice cream which is the BEST. also vegan cheese, get the good kind, that melts is really good.

    • superkait Says:

      I do know! I have several vegan friends that I find MUCH easier to go out to eat with (since we all avoid the dairy and eggs). However they tend to frown on my insatiable desire for red meat…
      In any case I must agree with you; Rice ice cream is awesome! The only problem I’ve had with it is that it won’t stay frozen in my freezer. :\ However, I’ve tried a couple kinds of vegan and soy cheeses and I haven’t found one I liked yet..
      Thanks though, I will keep looking!

      -kaitlin

  13. […] Sincerely, Mbconsulting@live.com Plinky's gone and come up with a new prompt that snagged my attention… "What I Lost and Want Back". E.J. tells me that prompts are for suckers, but I beg to differ. My views on prompts is formed thus: Every once in a while, you get prompted with something that really makes you think. I saw lots of people respond to this prompt on Plinky with "my mind" or "my sanity" but since I never had anything like that (sanity – now that's what's really for … Read More […]

  14. lawyergal Says:

    People ask me all the time how I stay really lean but keep muscle…and I tell them I drink milk/yogurt/whey protein smoothies like my life depends on it! So I can’t bash milk πŸ™‚

    http://lawyergal.wordpress.com/

    • superkait Says:

      Whey protein! I can actually digest the whey protein drinks with no problem – and I do! However I must say that ever since I dropped milk/dairy I slimmed down a bit, at least one pants size. So I’m not sure, maybe it’s just a matter of balance for everyone.

  15. I would DIE if I couldn’t have milk. I’m so sad for you 😦

  16. shenanitims Says:

    You’re not missing anything with the milk. Yuck. Ice cream and cheese, though, I don’t think I could go without. (P.S. This might not fly in the midwest, but American “cheese” isn’t actually cheese. Just some weird chemical concoction.)

    • superkait Says:

      Are you kidding?! I LOVE milk. It was my favorite drink.
      I didn’t know that! But it makes sense… more chemicals = more allgeries.

  17. coffeeclash Says:

    I’m in the midst of a restricted diet (no dairy, egg or wheat) for allergy testing and I can empathize completely with your desire to have the milk back. I have discovered that Coconut Bliss frozen dessert is so good it makes me not miss ice-cream. However, as soon as I’m done with these tests, I’ll be gorging on cheese. I miss it terribly.

    • superkait Says:

      Ooh, food allergies! Why do they torture us? I was tested for wheat allergies too — I am extremely thankful that I’m not allergic to wheat or gluten. Good luck with your tests!
      -kaitlin

  18. Lulu Says:

    That must be hard not to be able to have it anymore? I am allergic to chicken. Sometimes I tell myself it’s not that I don’t like chicken, but chicken doesn’t want me.
    Thanks for the post
    I have been thinking of posting from plinky

    • superkait Says:

      Ooh, I’d miss chicken, I’m sorry for you!
      Plinky is very fun & useful for when i’m not feeling inspired about anything in particular.

      -Kaitlin

  19. […] Ex-Milk Drinker Awaiting the Chance to Relapse Share and […]

  20. sarahnsh Says:

    You poor thing, I couldn’t live without milk, cheese, and ice cream… my main diet is like cheese. And, I know what you mean by Midwestern food having lots of cheese, I’m from Illinois and we go crazy on the cheese. I’d want milk back to, I love it!

  21. Evie Garone Says:

    Ohhh, that’s too bad. You are right I can’t imagine, I love cheese. I am soo sorry. Good luck with that. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!!

    evelyngarone.com

  22. Two words: sheep’s milk.

    I suffer from slight lactose intolerance, so I truly feel your pain and longing for milk. Mostly, I just drink it and suffer through when the desire gets too strong, but sheep’s milk might be the answer for you. It’s the most wonderful milk. It’s very healthy and, the best part, you can freeze it without it breaking down (other milks degrade in the freezer). And, unlike goat’s milk, which a lot of people don’t like the taste of, sheep’s milk is pretty much universally enjoyed by those who are brave enough to taste it. Someone told me they think it tastes like melted ice cream!

    Compared to cow’s milk, it’s higher in fat but lower in cholesterol and has a lot more calcium and protein. It’s also higher in lactose, so if your allergy is to lactose then it won’t help. Most cow milk allergies are to certain proteins which may (hopefully) not be present in sheep’s milk.

    • superkait Says:

      Oooh, I’ve had quite a few suggestions for Sheep’s milk and I now quite resolved to try it! However, I just can’t figure out where I can buy it at… :\
      In any case; thanks so much for the comment – this was all I need to convince me to try sheep milk. MMMMM melted ice cream…

      Thank you!
      -Kaitlin

  23. Best of luck and my condolences on your loss of milk products. I cannot imagine the frustration. Nonetheless, very cute post πŸ™‚

  24. The day before I lost my ability to digest milk, I drank 6 glasses one after the other. I craved it and loved it. Then, suddenly, the next time I reached for a nice cold glass of white richness, I started cramping, mouth salivating, tummy churning. My love affair with milk was over. After years of experimenting, I have sort of figured out which dairy products work and which don’t. Then I have days when those safe dairy products cause me embarrassment. Recently, I discovered dairy might be a cause for my random nausea and nasal allergies! I feel your pain.

  25. I feel your pain, but for another reason. The wife and I went vegan a few months ago, for diet and weight loss reasons. It’s been going amazingly smoothly, but there are those things we miss, but strangely enough don’t crave this far in. Milk and cheese are definitely at the top of the list.

    Unfortunately you’re not in the same boat as us, whereas we can cheat from time to time, and we plan to once at our goal weights, but you, being allergic, have to forgo milk and cheese forever (I’m guessing). If you were in the same boat I would suggest the occasional cheat, say: the 4th of July (strike one) and/or Thanksgiving (the two dates I plan to have soda).

    Since that’s not really a choice (I’m guessing), may I suggest some possible replacements? While soy milk is not milk, there are some pretty good soy milks out there (some, not all). We’ve also found a pizza place that makes a mighty good vegan pizza with soy cheese. If they can make good pizza, I don’t see why you couldn’t make a might good lasagna.

    Anyway, I hope you find a happy medium. If not, I would start getting used to the idea that it’s for the best, and get comfortable with that fact. 😐

    Good luck, you can do it. πŸ˜‰

    • superkait Says:

      I can do it, no worries! I might moan and groan from time to time, but my health has improved so much since I dropped dairy that I couldn’t really ask for more.
      I do cheat from time to time, but I usually end up cheating myself – I get awfully sick the next day, and I always have to ask “Was it worth it?”
      The answer is usually no.
      However, I’m a big fan of Silk soy milk! I don’t mind the alternatives at all, taste-wise, but I’ve sumbled across a big problem with replacing dairy with soy… http://www.healingdaily.com/detoxification-diet/soy.htm
      That article kinda scared me off of soy milk, but I’m looking to try goats, sheeps and camels milk in the furture. (:

      Thanks for the nice comment!!
      -Kaitlin

      • You’re welcome and wow, Kaitlin, now you’ve given me something to ponder. In the meantime we only partake in soy goods once a week, so I think we’ll be ok until we do a bit more research into the matter.

        Thank you.

  26. Rohit Says:

    Hello Kaitlin,

    Sorry to hear about your allergy, but there might be a solution, Okay well its not cow’s milk but when I used to live in the States I used to work for Trader Joe’s. They have milk made from other ingredients like Almonds & Soy. The almond milk was; I remember very popular and a lot of the customers even told me that once they tried it they did not want to drink regular milk.

    Trader Joe’s has a lot of non-dairy cheese’s and products which taste almost like the original. Try them…

    Hope this helps!

    Rohit

    • superkait Says:

      I’ve heard of Trader Joes! Everyone says it awesome. Unfortunately I don’t know where to find one around here but I’ll do some Google searches to find out… I also have heard only positives about almond milk, so thanks for reminding me to pick some up! (:

  27. Natalie Says:

    I am right there with you! My husband and my kids are allergic to milk, and so there’s none ever in the house. I, though, will get milk back, when I am done nursing our very last child. My first meal free will be Mexican. Cheese dip, followed by cheese stuffed chillies, and beans with cheese and rice with cheese and tamales with cheese. Followed by icecream.

    Wow. I really miss milk and cheese.

    Have you discovered the joys and wonder of coconut yogurt? Or Earth Balance buttery sticks?

    There is no decent cheese substitute, though, is there.

    • superkait Says:

      …Not that I’ve found. Once you’ve known dairy cheese it’s hard to do anything else. πŸ˜›
      Coconut yogurt? That sounds.. interesting… I’m not a fan of coconut though, so if it tastes how it sounds I’ll probably pass.
      Thank you though! Hope you enjoy your little cheese-a-palooza coming up. Get an extra scoop of ice cream for me!

      -Kaitlin

  28. I totally get this. Milk (and all kinds of dairy to be honest) is a huge part of my diet, I don’t know where I’d be without it!! Also this is a great blog topic, I might try it out next time I write πŸ˜€

    Good luck with the ‘fixing’, and hope you enjoyed the 4th πŸ™‚

    -M

  29. […] Ex-Milk Drinker Awaiting the Chance to Relapse (via A Lakeside Girl in a Riverside City) Posted on July 7, 2010 by thewondermya Plinky's gone and come up with a new prompt that snagged my attention… "What I Lost and Want Back". E.J. tells me that prompts are for suckers, but I beg to differ. My views on prompts is formed thus: Every once in a while, you get prompted with something that really makes you think. I saw lots of people respond to this prompt on Plinky with "my mind" or "my sanity" but since I never had anything like that (sanity – now that's what's really for … Read More […]

  30. I feel your pain…. and let it not be said that soya is a replacement no matter how much vanilla or gubbins they chuck in it.

  31. Adam Day Says:

    Ouch. I feel for you. I’m in the southeast and if I couldn’t have dairy products (or certain ones) I believe I would go insane.

    For some reading on the average persons outlook on life, and a little ranting and raving, please check out http://roadragewithaa.wordpress.com/

    • superkait Says:

      Well as aforementioned, I never had anything to lose in the sanity department, but life without milk isn’t all bad – it’s just the days I’m craving something like cereal or mint chocolate chip ice cream that it gets me down.

      Nice blog! I’ll try and keep up on it!
      -kaitlin

  32. Peanut Says:

    Well, kindred soul! I’m allergic to cow’s milk,too. My mom told me that when I was a baby, I was able to drink only goat’s milk and soy milk (I was also allergic to her milk! Sheesh!). Maybe you can try those? My allergy isnt so bad anymore, i can drink controlled amounts of milk, but usually coco milk.
    Well, good luck on your milk problem πŸ™‚

    • superkait Says:

      I drink controlled amounts too, but a little to much.. And I’ll be BLARGH all day. I’ve been looking to try Rice, Goat’s and coco milk, but I haven’t found any yet. Thanks for the suggestions!!

      -Kaitlin

      • roastedhighlandlegumes Says:

        You’re welcome. Try checking out Nestle’s products, they’ve got some soy milk and coco milk. I’m not sure about the brand names ’cause they usually differ by country (I live in the Philippines), but maybe you can try the pharmacies.

        Well, good luck there πŸ˜‰

  33. lostneedle Says:

    One word.

    Baaaa!!

    πŸ™‚

  34. I was born in Nebraska and moved to England as a very young adult. When I am cooking (especially when it is just me) my most-used ingredients are milk and cheese. Of course I also eat a lot of meat, being from Nebraska!
    Can you eat goats’ milk? I don’t like it to drink but it is okay for cooking, in fact I think some dishes taste better with goat milk.
    Where I live now the local cheese is made from sheeps milk. It is tasty, but quite different from ‘ordinary’ cheese.

    • superkait Says:

      Goat’s and Sheep’s milk hmm? I know that I’m not allergic to these but I have not had any luck finding any at my local Hy-Vee, haha. I’m not sure where I’d go to find it, either. But I’ll definitely do some looking, as I love trying new things.

  35. Oh…Superakait! I’m 35 and I found out that some milk is not good for my stomach. No need of a doc for that one, please, do not ask me to be more precise. hehehehehehe. Nowdays I drink soymilk (Have you heard?) At first it sucks! then is all I had so no problem. I even dare to drink soy milk with organic cereal, yeah yeah, sucks! but health is in my list if I want to change the world. Viva La Vida! I love the way you write, so vivid! Cool
    ~Great Love to you,
    Mirian from peelingtheorange. “)

  36. […] dejar un comentario » Plinky's gone and come up with a new prompt that snagged my attention… "What I Lost and Want Back". E.J. tells me that prompts are for suckers, but I beg to differ. My views on prompts is formed thus: Every once in a while, you get prompted with something that really makes you think. I saw lots of people respond to this prompt on Plinky with "my mind" or "my sanity" but since I never had anything like that (sanity – now that's what's really for … Read More […]

  37. hanulten Says:

    Ah, I’m so sorry to hear you’re allergic :|.
    I myself am lactose-intolerant so for the longest time I avoided dairy like the plague, but recently, I’ve been craving milk (probably subliminally because my friend drinks it all the time lol). And thankfully there’s the lactaid pills and such out there, but I hope you can enjoy dairy and especially, that tall glass of milk one day!

    • superkait Says:

      haha thank you for your support! i know how tough it can be when all your friend are eating ince cream and you can’t. But at least you have though magic little pills πŸ™‚
      Thanks again and happy dairy adventures!

      -Kaitlin

  38. Hi Kaitlin, lovely shot of you. You make a great hand model. he he. I live with my sister, who NEVER drinks milk or milk products though she is NOT allergic to it. And her life is good. She is a happy, positive woman who knows what she like, and she goes out and gets it.

    So do not mooch around pining for milk or products made from milk, branch out and eat new things. One day, quite soon , you will lose those yearnings, and you will meet a wonderful young man who is also allergic to milk.

    Then your life will be extra good and you will be happy.

    Johnboy

    • superkait Says:

      You should be my fortune-teller. Or my personal compliment-person. Your comment made me blush a little, haha (:
      Anyway, don’t worry about me! I am well on my well to trying all of the alternatives and new things I can find. I lvoe to try new foods and I am open to all sorts of crazy options – it’s just a matter of finding them at this point (and affording them, ahh!!).
      Thanks so much for the positive feedback. I’ll quit pining for milk this minute and look to the future! (:

      -Kaitlin

  39. trequartisti Says:

    Regular milk doesn’t even taste that good, so you’re not missing anything πŸ™‚

    Camel milk is healthier (and just like with all ‘healthy’ food items, it tastes a helluva lot worse)

    Are you allergic or is it a lactose intolerancy?

    • superkait Says:

      Buttttt it doessss! I miss it.
      Camel milk!? Sounds interesting… And I’m allergic. I don’t have allergic reactions though – just get sick all over the place if I have any.

  40. davidbdale Says:

    Sad story, Kaitlin, in a region where one of the most popular attractions at the summer fair is the “All the Milk You Can Drink” booth!

    • superkait Says:

      Haha, that’s just ridiculous. It’s like a death-trap for people like me, ’cause I want the milk, but if I drink any (must less All I Can Drink) I would be terribly sick. Oh well. You won’t be seeing me anywhere near that booth!

      -Kaitlin

  41. hello! warm greeting ^^!
    you have a nice blog 0_0

    by the way,
    if you need to find Unique Font, you can go to our website.

    best regards;

  42. soulbridge Says:

    Wow Superkait, what a drag. As a midwest girl myself, I know what you mean by the recipes, ad I struggle too. Not because of an allergy, but because of elevated cholesterol – bad genes!
    I miss the cheesy goodness of those casseroles and the wonderful ice cream at my local “dairy dip”. Fat Free just isn’t the same. Hope you find a cure for that allergy soon!

    • superkait Says:

      Aww, you poor dear! Even restrictions on your dairy limit is a pain. My father has high blood pressure & cholesterol so he eats more leafy-greens than ever – like me – but he’s not big on dairy anyway for some reason.
      Thanks for your support ❀
      -Kaitlin

  43. comewrite Says:

    seriously, i don’t think I could live without cheese. cheeeeeeeeese!!!

    http://comewrite.wordpress.com/

  44. qbubbles Says:

    I hate it when people say that they have an “allergy” when in reality they have an intolerance. I have a lactose intolerance, not an allergy. For folks like you, with a real allergy, its a different ballgame. I can always take a pill and enjoy the fine fruits of the bovine tree, whereas you… well, you’re just fucked.

    Sorry.

    Hug?

    • superkait Says:

      Hug accepted. *snuggle*

      And… I’m not totally fucked. I can usually get by with a tiny bite of mac n cheese with no adverse effects. But if drink a milkshake, all hell breaks loose. o_o

  45. RossRae Says:

    That’s terrible. I feel your pain.
    I’m a huge fan of dairy. I had a blood test last week after weeks and weeks of allergies; I was fearful that it was a dairy allergy.

    Turns out, I have a 99.9% allergic reaction to dust. Grand. Although I imagine you would take my allergy of dust over milk.

    Hang in there.

    • superkait Says:

      Dust! My little brother is severely allergic to dust and animal dander… AND he had asthma. So I’ve witness how horrific dust allergies can be and I am so sorry for you! My advice: get rid of your carpeting and buy new pillows regularly.

      Thanks! No worries, my milk allergy can be controlled pretty easily, whereas dust can be anywhere!
      Much Love & respect,
      kaitlin

  46. There’s no way of making the world a better place while drinking the milk of the exploited.
    Maybe you want to read this with an open heart: http://peacefulprairie.org/outreach/deathSentence.html

    By the way, I have been drinking plant based milk, eating vegan ice cream and lasagna for years and I don’t miss a thing. πŸ˜‰

    • superkait Says:

      Ah, spoken like a true activist.
      Animal cruelty has always been an issue in the agriculture region… We’ll see what the future holds for the poor cows. ):
      Plant-based, you say? I’d like to know more.
      Thanks for the support (&enlightment!)
      -Kaitlin

  47. I feel for you. I can’t have sugar. Which do you think is worse? πŸ™‚
    http://www.denwrites.com

  48. lostbutf0und Says:

    Hey, they’ve started to import camel’s milk into Europe I was reading the other day,so I quickly googeld to see if it’s maybe possible in the states as well, this could maybe be a solution for you.

    Camel milk in Europe :
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100705/od_uk_nm/oukoe_uk_emirates_camelmilk

    Camel milk in the US :
    http://www.camelmilkusa.com/

    My opinion, yuk! But I couldn’t be able to survive without milk!

  49. πŸ™‚ Oh my Kaitlin, you are becoming quite famous with your blog! ❀

  50. Oh, but you maaay want to check out some of wordpress’ spam blocking plugins/modules πŸ™‚

  51. I sympathize with you. I recently developed a Tree Nut allergy, and it’s come on fast and furious. It’s weird to think I could actually die from eating something I love. Here I am in my 40s and used to eating anything I want. BAM! Life threw a curve ball. I had no idea how many products have nuts or “traces” of nuts. I’m learning to read labels, and I have to constantly ask people what they put in their salads/casseroles/suaces, etc. When in doubt, I just can’t eat it. Food allergies take a big toll – both physically, and emotionally.

    Congrats on making Freshly Pressed today. Enjoy those skyrocketing stats! πŸ™‚ – MoSop

    • superkait Says:

      Wow!! Nuts are really tough one because they can sneak in anything with “traces of” nonsense… So I am sad for you, definitely! But thanks for the love and support, and my Freshly Pressed-ness is taking some getting used too haha!

  52. Songbird Says:

    You have my sympathy…I have never stopped to think how many foods and dishes actually have milk in them…

    • superkait Says:

      Yeah but when you think about it, most of those dishes can be made with a soy milk or sheep’s milk substitute – it’s just hard when you’re eating out or at family dinners because let’s face it — not everyone cooks with soy. but when I’m cooking for myself it’s perfect πŸ™‚

  53. frederickbenny Says:

    AAAAAWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!

    Thats so sad….. If I were a doctor, I’d be working my ass off to help you! But since Im not, Im not gonna do that :}

    Cheerio!
    Fred

    http://fredtheben.wordpress.com/

  54. watch movies Says:

    Milk is everything

  55. I hear you – dairy allergies are a real pain in the tush. I remember vividly trying to convince my sister that dairy was why she felt so lousy in the mornings (cereal with milk). She was so mad at me and didn’t want to even consider that that might be what was wrong – she thought she just wasn’t a morning person. (Just goes to show that ever person’s world is a microcosm. You think that’s how everyone feels because you’ve never felt differently.)
    Well, she tried going without her usual breakfast for a week and it turned out – I was right. She cannot process the lactose – and now that they make lactose-free milk, she can enjoy her cereal again – without feeling lousy.
    I know there are other ways to be sensitive to milk – the proteins can be very troublesome too – but for her the lactose is the biggest problem. Hope you are able to find a work-around too.

    And I feel for you – I love Indian food so much, we had it at our wedding. Talk about a storm of controversy.

    • superkait Says:

      It was the same for me! I was always feeling crappy, day in and day out, until I stopped having dairy in my diet. Now I feel much healthier! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.
      -Kaitlin

  56. […] Trees As those who have glimpsed my Plinky account know already; I was so overwhelmed by my β€œFreshly Pressed” feature, that I didn’t know what to try next. I love using Plinky for inspiration, but I don’t want my […]

  57. The Weddington Adventures Says:

    Nice!;)

  58. This is one of the saddest things I’ve ever read, I’m so so sorry for you. Do you ever just try and forget about your allergy for an ice-cream every now and then?

    • superkait Says:

      OH MAN, I wish. I can cheat a little bit here and there with cheesy foods (a bite of mac’n’cheese here, a sample of cheesy potatoes there) but I can’t do the ice cream without getting horribly and messily sick over the course of the next day and a half. So generally I stick to it pretty good, ’cause anytime I eat dairy I find myself paying for it.
      Thanks for the support!
      -Kait

  59. Simone Says:

    Amy’s Mac-n-Cheese with non-dairy rice cheese is almost dead-on.

    Daiya cheese makes my lasagna pretty authentic, yum!

    ….and the pice de resistance… Coconut Bliss chocolate ice cream. OH GOD IT’S SO GOOD! πŸ™‚

    shop at the health food store and you’ll be fine. XOXO

    hugs and love and hang in there SuperKait! πŸ™‚

    • superkait Says:

      Wow… I owe you a big THANK YOU Simone.

      I’ve actually tried the coconut bliss ice creams, along with Rice Dream and I really don’t care for any of it.

      But thanks so much for the suggestions! I will definitely look into that mac ‘n’ cheese… Yummm.

  60. Artik Says:

    Great post, please do publish more posts.

  61. Dwight Hetherington Says:

    Dust allegies are very hard to treat. Usually, antihistamines work to relieve its symptoms.^

    Our personal webpage
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/wheatgrass-powder-smoothies/

  62. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites
    on the net. I’m going to highly recommend this web site!

  63. Verdie Boldenow Says:

    Many people recognize allergy symptoms such as a runny or stuffy nose, itchy, watery eyes and sneezing (allergic rhinoconjunctivitis) from dust exposure related to common household chores such as vacuuming, sweeping, and dusting. House dust exposure can also trigger asthma symptoms such as wheezing, coughing, chest tightness and shortness of breath.:

    Remember to inspect our very own internet site
    <'http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/persistent-sore-throat/


Comments are closed.